A Quiet Death in Italy

by Tom Benjamin


‘The locale is brought to life . . . the plot keeps you guessing’ -The Times

‘A slow-burning, tense and brooding thriller’ -The Herald Scotland

‘Tom Benjamin’s debut novel blows the lid off a political cauldron in which Leftist agitators, property moguls, the police and city elders struggle for survival and dominance’ -Daily Mail

‘It’s an immensely promising debut, which leaves the reader feeling they really know the city’ -Morning Star

Bologna: city of secrets, suspicion . . . and murder

When the body of a radical protestor is found floating in one of Bologna’s underground canals, it seems that most of the city is ready to blame the usual suspects: the police.

But when private investigator Daniel Leicester, son-in-law to the former chief of police, receives a call from the dead man’s lover, he follows a trail that begins in the 1970s and leads all the way to the rotten heart of the present-day political establishment.

Beneath the beauty of the city, Bologna has a dark underside, and English detective Daniel must unravel a web of secrets, deceit and corruption – before he is caught in it himself.

A dark and atmospheric crime thriller set in the beautiful Italian city of Bologna, perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Philip Gwynne Jones.


$0.99 Previously $3.99

Category: Mystery – Private Investigators